I Have to Return at Least 2 of These. Guilt. Which 2?

March 13, 2011 § 4 Comments

(Note: If you have a penis, you can move right along. Nothing for you to see here!)

Forces conspired today.

It hit 60 degrees.
We leave for Miami in 3 weeks.
The Target designer greatest hits collection arrived in stores.

All this reminded me of how great summer is, and, in particular, how great wearing summer dresses is. So I went to Target, and I went a little crazy. Yes. I bought A LOT of $40 dresses. Let me show you.

Thakoon.

This collection hit stores right as Michelle Obama was wearing a lot of his designs, and this dress in particular sold out before I even had a chance to glance at the whole line online, and it never reappeared in stores.

Plus: It’s a gorgeous, gorgeous mix of prints, and so on par with Thakoon’s regular-level dresses.
Minus: It’s definitely going to be dry clean only. Like hell I’ll have the patience to iron all those pleats.

Proenza Schouler.

This line was released before I had any idea that Target was even doing these designer collaborations. Every time I’ve seen it in magazine layouts ever since, I’ve been bummed that I didn’t get it. This dress was the first one I grabbed today.

Plus: Everything here is a plus. Love the colors. Love the print. Love the navy ribbing.
Minus: It’s just the SLIGHTEST bit too big on me up top, and it isn’t something that can be tailored. So, I have decided to get breast implants. Yay!
Model Observation: I hate how she’s standing. And I hate how this was styled with black sandals. All wrong.

Tucker.

This one sold out before I could get to it online, or in stores. It’s such a classic Tucker print. Truly a must-have.

Plus: Everything.
Minus: I had to order this one online because it was sold out in stores. So, waiting. Boo!!
Model Observation: Sassypants stance!

Tucker.

I bought this exact dress in a different print when it was in stores — it’s a blue print with red flowers. I love it, and have gotten SO much wear out of it, it’s totally worth adding a second version of it to my closet.

Plus: I love the black and the big floral print — it’s so different than the blue one I already have.
Minus: Tucker sizing runs small. I don’t particularly appreciate the size I had to buy this one in to get a good fit.

Jovovich-Hawk.

This dress could not possibly be LESS Meredith. First of all, it’s white. Second, it’s fluttery. Very Stevie Nicks. The sleeves are gauzy and sheer. SO NOT ME. That said … I fell in love with it.

Plus: So perfect for drinks poolside at the Shore Club that I just couldn’t resist.
Minus: Super short. I hope everyone at the Shore Club enjoys seeing my ass.

Confession time: I also bought an Erin Fetherston and a Tracy Feith but I’ve already decided to return those.

§ 4 Responses to I Have to Return at Least 2 of These. Guilt. Which 2?

  • Patricia says:

    I vote for 4 and 5 to go back. Totally love the first one.

  • okay…. here we go.
    #1 lovelovelove. my absolute fave of the bunch. it screams meredith o’donnell rodkey. this looks fantastic on you, i’m sure.
    #2 this dress is super cute. i was surprised you picked this out until i saw the navy piping. i bet these colors looks really good and i bet the make up you will wear with it will be awesome too. (agreed about the shoes. all kinds of wrong.)
    #3 i love the pink of this dress. so cute! i haven’t seen you in this color much so am excited to see you rock it.
    #4 i love this dress. love the cut and think it’ll look really pretty on you. question: is the blue one you got navy blue? does it look super similar to this one? or is it more royal?
    #5 i was very surprised when i scrolled down and saw this dress. you’re right — it’s very un-you! BUT it’s VERY cute and VERY miami and might be the perfect FUN thing to wear while on vacation and out of your ‘safe’ zone.

    bottom line: keep ’em all.

    additional thoughts:
    – won’t it be fun when i can join you on these excursions?
    – i love the new blog theme
    – yes, i realize this isn’t a personal email but a comment on a blog.

    • shampoosolo says:

      Honestly I’m pretty sure our personal emails to each other would make a really great blog all on their own. There’d be a lot of redacted names and stuff, but good material overall.

      I’m keeping them all. The other Tucker is more of a periwinkle with a microprint — so they are different enough. I neglected to mention that I also bought a cheap maxi dress at Target (I hate maxi dresses, but I’ve been wearing it with knee-high boots and an army jacket for 48 hours straight), as well as a dress at Madewell and one at J. Crew. I might have a problem.

      • you can never buy too many dresses. i really, truly believe that. i am so jealous you are having such luck right now! i’m in a dress rut.

        glad you’re keeping them all. they’re all so cute! i def want to see a pic of the peasant-y one from mia…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Have to Return at Least 2 of These. Guilt. Which 2? at Shampoo Solo.

meta

