February 14, 2010 § 2 Comments

Me: I have something in mind that might be fun to do for my birthday this year.
Him: Can I try to guess before you tell me?
Me: Ok, but it’s not obvious.
Him: Ok. … Is it … Do you want to go to Arkansas?
Me: You know me frighteningly well.

Why Arkansas?

Well, Rachel Alexandra and Zenyatta will face off at Oaklawn Park in the Apple Blossom Invitational at Hot Springs, Arkansas on April 9. The Arkansas Derby is the next day, my birthday, at the same track. It’s kind of a big draw, but yet: As I’ve mentioned on Twitter, I don’t think this race is an awesome idea. The New York Times summed up my biggest fear on this front back in November, evoking memories of the ill-fated Ruffian vs. Foolish Pleasure matchup. Frankly, I’m pretty content with not knowing who’s better; I’m happy thinking both are great horses of their time. The head-to-head (though, has been pointed out and has become clear recently, it’s not a match race, there will be 10 starters in the gate) doesn’t seem necessary to me. (Though, obviously, in my heart, I believe Rachel is the better horse, and I’m obviously not alone in that opinion in light of HoY voting.)

But then again, if it’s going to happen, I kind of want to be there. And you’d think that the fine people who run Oaklawn would’ve considered this — but as yet, there’s not a word on tickets or packages to both days of racing.

So, let’s face it: We’ll probably just go to Miami instead.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to

  • tracey says:

    i have an idea! how about hawaii?

  • I intended to send you one bit of observation to finally thank you very much again for your marvelous guidelines you’ve documented here. This is pretty open-handed of people like you to make extensively precisely what many of us could have marketed as an ebook to earn some profit on their own, certainly given that you might well have tried it if you ever wanted. The solutions also acted to become a fantastic way to be certain that other people have a similar keenness just like my personal own to see a whole lot more concerning this condition. I’m sure there are many more enjoyable instances ahead for people who look into your blog post.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading at Shampoo Solo.

meta

