And Let’s Not Forget General Quarters, at 80-1

April 25, 2009 § 3 Comments

There won’t be a Triple Crown winner this year.

That feels like a bold prediction to make – it’s certainly in complete opposition to what I’d like to see – but, obviously, from a historical perspective it’s not that far-fetched of a prediction.

And, while I don’t think we’ll see a Derby, Preakness, Belmont sweep for at least another year, I couldn’t be more excited about what the next two months hold.

This field is deep – though, with three of my early favorites off the trail entirely (Old Fashioned, The Pamplemousse, and Stardom Bound), it’s gotten a little less deep over the past few weeks. Frankly, I have no idea who’s going to win; I’m pulling for I Want Revenge, but … Pioneerof the Nile could take it. So could Dunkirk, Friesan Fire, Regal Ransom, General Quarters, and Papa Clem. So could any of the other 13 starters who go into the gate on May 2.

Anything could happen, and that’s so much more exciting to me than last year’s overwhelming favoritism of Big Brown – he was everyone’s pick, and everyone was right, up until that moment when *I* was right, and the Big Brown bandwagon came to a screeching halt in the Belmont. Frankly, last season was no fun, from start to finish.

This year is going to be fun – in fact, I have a feeling it’s going to be a lot similar to my favorite season in recent memory – 2007, when Street Sense took the Derby, Curlin took the Preakness, and then Rags to Riches battled Curlin stride-for-stride in the final stretch of the Belmont (a moment I have a giant framed print of on my desk at work – I can’t look at it and not relive that moment). Each race was exciting, each had a different winner and it was a relief to not feel the pressure of hoping to see a Triple Crown win.

That’s what I want this year. Three hard-fought, thrilling races – where, of course, everyone comes home safe.

(And, in the Derby, if I Want Revenge [who I locked in at 54-1 with a sizeable bet back in March] or Take the Points [at 77-1, ditto] or Papa Clem [44-1, ditto] could finish first, that’d be great for my bankroll and also make me look [even more] like a genius.)

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to And Let’s Not Forget General Quarters, at 80-1

  • I Want Revenge has looked great so far. He’s got a big shot for you at roughly 10x the odds folks can catch him next Saturday.

    General Quarters I’m not really seeing. Pace should make this race. If Quality Road isn’t bothered by his quarter cracks, he might get an easy trip, depending on if Regal Ransom can run with him, which I don’t think he can.

  • Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog. Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thanks

  • Russel says:

    What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this web site, and article is really fruitful for me,
    keep up posting these articles.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading And Let’s Not Forget General Quarters, at 80-1 at Shampoo Solo.

meta

