I Take Out the Trash, I Sweep the Floor

June 14, 2008 § 3 Comments

It’s intern season!

This is both good and bad.

Good: Interns can help with work.
Bad: Interns think I’m old.

Good: Interns have fresh ideas.
Bad: Interns think I’m old.

Good: Interns don’t mind working late.
Bad: Interns think I’m old.

Yesterday in a meeting, I was sitting next to some other team’s new summer intern (our team, we don’t actually get our own interns; we just ogle other teams’ interns, which is probably because every year I try to convince my boss that we need an intern just to make Starbucks runs). This intern in particular had one of those white wristbands they give you at bars and clubs to signal that you are old enough to pay inflated prices for copious amounts of alcohol. It was covered in blue motorcycles, and I recognized it.

“Rock and Roll Hotel?” I asked him.

His eyes got all wide and surprised, and I could tell he was thinking: My God, you go there? You’re OLD.

At this point, I wish I could say that I said something wise and snappy, like, “You don’t become boring just because you turn 30!” but, sadly, instead, I said: “I got so drunk the last time I was there.”

§ 3 Responses to I Take Out the Trash, I Sweep the Floor

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Take Out the Trash, I Sweep the Floor at Shampoo Solo.

meta

