Shit = Lost.

February 25, 2008 § 5 Comments

About three weeks ago, I bought an Apple TV, because I wanted to be able to listen to my music in the living room, and this seemed like the most sensical solution. Last week, I bought a laptop for home music and writing. I spent a day transferring my iTunes library onto new laptop. All songs are presented, accounted for, authorized, and synced to the iPod; this was no small feat.

And then I felt ready to tackle the Apple TV set up. Right now, the things I am considering doing with my Apple TV are as follows:

  • Throw off balcony
  • Light on fire
  • Smash with hammer
  • Pee on

I have never been more frustrated by a piece of technology in my life. (I’m not a super geek or anything but, you would think I would be able to set up a nice and easy plug-and-play Apple device.) Still, no matter what I do, it registers a port 3689 error. NO MATTER WHAT. I have opened port 3689. I have opened port 5353. I have uninstalled and reinstalled iTunes. I have disconnected the Apple TV from the TV and tried syncing that way. NOTHING WORKS.

The most annoying thing is that I’m not the only person having this issue — it’s not that I’m just dumb (for once) and it’s not that I’m now running the craptacular Vista OS, either — the Apple support forums are filled with people running Leopard who are having THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM.

I wish I hadn’t thrown the box away. I wish I could return this piece of shit. I HATE YOU APPLE TV. Seriously, I want to cry just thinking about all the time I’ve spent trying to set this thing up. I’m going to have to call in the motherfucking Geek Squad soon. THE MOTHERFUCKING GEEK SQUAD.

I feel slightly better now.

§ 5 Responses to Shit = Lost.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shit = Lost. at Shampoo Solo.

meta

