This Will Have to Do as New Content Until I Slog Through This Bout of Winter Writer’s Block

February 13, 2008 § 2 Comments

This came in the mail today:

Dear Subscriber — We regret to inform you that Blueprint magazine has ceased publication with the January/February 2008 issue. We’re going to have a blog now instead! Aren’t we so Web 2.0?! Oh, and we’re giving you a subscription to Martha Stewart Living, too, because there’s no way you get that already, right? WE KNOW! BLAH BLAH BLAH.

(OK, so I paraphrased that last bit. [“That last bit” meaning “Everything after the first sentence.])

I’m not 100% sure why I find this news so disappointing (and, yes, I know, it’s oldish news), but I do. I have a file in our office where I’ve saved every issue of Blueprint; it quickly usurped Real Simple as my nerdy-homebody magazine of choice. It was useful, it was hip, and, well, I really liked the masthead font.

And speaking of Real Simple, can you guess which soup is their cover photo, and which is my replica of their recipe?
soup
OF COURSE YOU CAN. Mine is the one that was photographed after it had been slightly eaten, and in very poor lighting. However, it was a Big Deal for me to cook that soup, all By Myself, and I had to Use the Blender, and it turned out really well, and Scott liked it, so he took a photo.

(Can you tell how bad the writer’s block is? It is REALLY bad.)

Finally, this is how we’ve come to pass our time in at home since we’ve gotten an L-shaped couch:
lshapedcat.jpg
We bought the couch so there’d be room for everyone to sprawl out comfortably, but most of the time, there’s room for me, and the cats, and Scott gets a sliver of room on the very, very end. But, hey, the coffee table is at the perfect height to take timer photos! Which we’ve been doing. A lot.

(I’m so sorry. I’m hoping the block passes soon, too.)

§ 2 Responses to This Will Have to Do as New Content Until I Slog Through This Bout of Winter Writer’s Block

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading This Will Have to Do as New Content Until I Slog Through This Bout of Winter Writer’s Block at Shampoo Solo.

meta

