Be Kind to the New Girl

February 3, 2008 § 6 Comments

twice you burned your life’s work
once to start a new life
and once just to start a fight
(The Long Winters)

It recently (as of 10 minutes ago) came to my attention that I no longer have any of the archive files from my previous Web sites.

No posts.
No poems.
No short stories.
Everything I’ve ever written is gone.

It would be really nice if I could shake my fist at the heavens and blame this on computer failure and whatnot, but, unfortunately, I know exactly what happened, and that was one, big, huge, fatal Human Error. When backing my shit up a month ago, I deleted the existing backup folder, and then just replaced my Music and Pictures folders. And then emptied the Recycle Bin. Meaning, I deleted all my own shit without even realizing it.

So, I can forget about further posts to the Vintage/From the Archive category. And I’m taking my still-to-be-received tax refund to Best Buy later today and buying a personal laptop, because this setup where I have a work computer and then I back up my personal shit at home once a month IS CLEARLY NOT WORKING.

And from there, I guess, I rebuild.

§ 6 Responses to Be Kind to the New Girl

  • OY. I feel your pain. Question – have you checked out archive.org? The internet archives keeps things that have been posted long after they’re gone.

    My computer – which cost more than the GNP of a small African country and was just over a year old – took a huge crap a couple of years ago and I lost everything. Half finished scripts and pictures and the whole deal. Ugh.

  • Nikki says:

    I was going to say the same thing – I recovered 3 websites worth of old posts, with only a few missing here and there, by going through archive.org. Good luck!

  • shampoo solo says:

    Most of what I had originally was from archive.org — so good thinking, I’ll have to grab some stuff there. As for non-blog stuff, I’m screwed.

  • Ben says:

    That sucks, Poo.

  • gmr2048 says:

    Or, “That sucks poo”.

    Either way, very sorry for your loss. Hopefully Archive will be able to dig up some of your stuff. Good luck.

  • styro says:

    I’ve trashed mine on purpose repeatedly, and without remorse. Farewell, past! Hello, future!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Be Kind to the New Girl at Shampoo Solo.

meta

