Six Months of Eating Strangely

June 19, 2012 § Leave a comment

I was warned about morning sickness.

From week four till about week eight, I ate blissfully, even cockily. I got this, I thought.

From week nine to week 13, as long as I had something in my stomach, I wouldn’t feel nauseous, I wouldn’t dry heave, I wouldn’t throw up. Hunger and nausea became intertwined in my body in some nonsensical way. (There was a moment, at work, before it was widely known that I was expecting, when I straight-armed a partner in my single-minded focus on a. a trashcan or b. a toilet.) During these weeks, I relied on the basics.
Cinnamon Toast Crunch
Oh, Cinnamon Toast Crunch. I ate my way through boxes and boxes of you.
And Trader Joe’s Ginger Cat Cookies.
And Saltines.
You were so good to me!
Thank you for your help!!

I kept a bag of each everywhere — my purse, my laptop bag, my car. These were the staples of my diet for more than a month. Later on, the nausea passed, but the growing baby would crowd my stomach, and I became my own worst enemy. Overjoyed that I was suddenly hungry, I would eat too much — and feel ill. (The worst of this happened at The Avengers, during which I mindlessly nibbled too much popcorn, and then sat in miserable, weeping silence for the last 30 minutes and in the car ride on the way home. Lesson, learned.)

Now in the second trimester, eating is again for nourishment, not a defensive tactic. Of course, I still have cravings for foods I haven’t eaten in a long, long time.
Cookies and Cream, Pop Tarts
Like Cookies and Cream Pop Tarts.
And McDonald’s hot fudge sundaes.
And a Frosty from Wendy’s.
Holy crap, you evil foods are delicious!
I will remove you from my thighs eventually!!

I don’t hesitate to indulge these, now and then, sometimes more now than then.

Luckily, cravings for the foods that I truly used to love are starting to return, as well. These are the foods I could eat and eat and eat and never feel guilty about feeding to me, or this baby. Offensive, healthy eating, the kind I’m a little more used to, minus the grazing nights of cheese and glorious, glorious red wine.

What I’m craving now is more like a who’s who of what’s in season at the farmer’s market.
Strawberries
Like fresh strawberries.
And yogurt. (Fine, usually chocolate.)
And endive, and watermelon, and corn on the cob.
Welcome back!
I missed you!!

What’s next?

I suppose we’ll see what baby girl wants.

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Six Months of Eating Strangely at Shampoo Solo.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

